Smart phone for total beginner

jolizzie
jolizzie Posts: 29 Forumite
First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
I have a Microsoft lumina smartphone with sim only from plusnet but haven't a clue about terminology
What is 4G
Can I access internet and use a something to give me directions whilst driving
Help I'm a silver surfer so in plain language please

Comments

• custardy
    custardy Posts: 38,365 Forumite
    Name Dropper Photogenic First Post First Anniversary
    jolizzie wrote: »
    I have a Microsoft lumina smartphone with sim only from plusnet but haven't a clue about terminology
    What is 4G

4G is just fast mobile internet access.

As for Sat Nav. you may have an app for this already.
    I looked on the Microsoft store and saw a few.
    eg

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/store/p/maps-for-lumia-premium/9nblggh3ntn7
  • almillar
    almillar Posts: 8,621 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    You've got a Windows smartphone. It's 'Lumia' by the way, and there's a number after that to tell you what the model really is.
    4G is a mobile communications system - it's the best at the moment and gives the fastest data speed when away from WiFi. Your phone will have WiFi, and you should use it when possible (at home, in cafes etc) instead of using up the 4G data you get on your SIM.
    Yes, you can access internet. I'm sure there's an internet browser, maybe something called Internet Explorer or Edge on your phone. I'm sure it'll also have a sat nav app - it might have 'Here' or 'Here Maps' built in, which goes back to Nokia days and is apparently good, and should include directions.
    Have a poke round the phone and ask any questions, hopefully someone that actually has a Lumia will appear...
  • [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 5,186 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    What is 4G

Due to the size of the screen I'd consider getting a standalone satnav for the car.
  • WAYT
    WAYT Posts: 694 Forumite