Stocks and shares ISA

Options
Hi. I'm new to this so please be gentle. I have an HSBC stocks and shares ISA which I pay in £25 a month. I've had it for years.
If I want to start a new iSA do I have to transfer this to the new provider or can I have 2? I will be nowhere near the 20k a year limit. Munnypot said that I will need to transfer my is a over to them bit I don't really want to!
Hope that makes sense and thanks for your replies! I am very confused!

Comments

• Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,173 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    Options
    You can have 2 S&S ISAs started in different years. But why would you want to? Much easier just to keep with the same provider. Munnypot is perhaps talking about opening and contributing to 2 S&S ISAs in the same year.
  • dmarks70
    Options
    I would be contributing to 2 as I am paying £25 a month and want to continue. Is that not allowed?
  • ColdIron
    ColdIron Posts: 9,054 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper Photogenic First Post
    Options
    That is not allowed
  • enthusiasticsaver
    enthusiasticsaver Posts: 15,595 Ambassador
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    The rule is you can only contribute to one isa per tax year. If you have made monthly contributions since 6 April to HSBC one then you need to continue with that one. If you are unhappy with it then you can transfer to a new provider.
    I’m a Forum Ambassador and I support the Forum Team on the Debt free Wannabe, Budgeting and Banking and Savings and Investment boards. If you need any help on these boards, do let me know. Please note that Ambassadors are not moderators. Any posts you spot in breach of the Forum Rules should be reported via the report button, or by emailing forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com. All views are my own and not the official line of MoneySavingExpert.
  • Redski69
    Redski69 Posts: 22 Forumite
    edited 17 May 2017 at 9:49AM