Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@. Skimlinks & other affiliated links are turned on

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • dmarks70
    • By dmarks70 16th May 17, 8:54 PM
    • 3Posts
    • 2Thanks
    dmarks70
    Stocks and shares ISA
    • 16th May 17, 8:54 PM
    Stocks and shares ISA 16th May 17 at 8:54 PM
    Hi. I'm new to this so please be gentle. I have an HSBC stocks and shares ISA which I pay in £25 a month. I've had it for years.
    If I want to start a new iSA do I have to transfer this to the new provider or can I have 2? I will be nowhere near the 20k a year limit. Munnypot said that I will need to transfer my is a over to them bit I don't really want to!
    Hope that makes sense and thanks for your replies! I am very confused!
Page 1
    • Linton
    • By Linton 16th May 17, 9:07 PM
    • 7,913 Posts
    • 7,713 Thanks
    Linton
    • 16th May 17, 9:07 PM
    • 16th May 17, 9:07 PM
    You can have 2 S&S ISAs started in different years. But why would you want to? Much easier just to keep with the same provider. Munnypot is perhaps talking about opening and contributing to 2 S&S ISAs in the same year.
    • dmarks70
    • By dmarks70 16th May 17, 10:17 PM
    • 3 Posts
    • 2 Thanks
    dmarks70
    • 16th May 17, 10:17 PM
    • 16th May 17, 10:17 PM
    I would be contributing to 2 as I am paying £25 a month and want to continue. Is that not allowed?
    • ColdIron
    • By ColdIron 16th May 17, 10:25 PM
    • 3,162 Posts
    • 3,598 Thanks
    ColdIron
    • 16th May 17, 10:25 PM
    • 16th May 17, 10:25 PM
    That is not allowed
    • enthusiasticsaver