IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Parking ticket in residential space

Options
Oxy333
Oxy333 Posts: 17 Forumite
Dear All, I am new to this and would greatly appreciate any assistance or help that can be provided.

I lease an apartment and through my tenancy, I have a parking space in a carpark which is for tenants and is 'managed' by UKP. As far as I am aware, each tenant is entitled to a particular parking space and upon moving in we were given the permit for the space.

Several months ago I received tickets for not displaying thepermit. I believed that the space is mine through my tenancy and that as a result, it would be ridiculous for me to pay a ticket for this. I see now that I have probably taken the incorrect course of action.

I recently received a letter claiming to be a Letter before claim from solicitors on behalf of PC, stating that a claim will be made if payment is not made. Each ticket is now £150 and there are several, so as you can imagine, I am worried about the prospect of court.

I appreciate I may have left some relevant details out, for which I apologise. I would appreciate any help that you can provide or direction you can point me in.

I understand that I have made a lot of naive and silly mistakes so I apologise for that for making this case harder, but with several tickets of £150 each, I can't really afford to pay this. Nor do I believe I should have to in principle

Thanks in advance

Comments

• Coupon-mad
    Coupon-mad Posts: 132,728 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post Photogenic First Anniversary
    edited 4 July 2016 at 8:15PM
    Options
    Welcome. No-one is going to call you naive or silly - and we can help.

You say: