Jobcentre advisor contacting prospective employer? can I refuse?

Options
I am a professional with over 10 years experience as a project manager. Most of my work is contract and the last contract recently finished without me being able to find another job. I have had to recently claim JSA.
I have been offered an interview outside of my area requiring train travel expense I do not have and so enquired at the job centre about travel assistance. I have been told I must see an advisor and that they will call my prospective employer to confirm I have been offered an interview.
I feel this will damage my credibility with the employer and that having a job centre call them for a professional role will limit my chances of being successful (based on my experience working with this sector)

I have email proof of the interview to show the advisor - but need to know my rights. Can I refuse to let them contact the company? If so what legislation/ provision can I quote?
Hoping someone can advise
Thanks

PK

Comments

• Money_maker
    Money_maker Posts: 5,471 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    How would you be able to get to work for the first month if you got the job?

Can you beg, borrow or steal the train fare as it does make you look like a completely unprofessional applicant.
    Please do not quote spam as this enables it to 'live on' once the spam post is removed. ;)

If you quote me, don't forget the capital 'M'

Declutterers of the world - unite! :rotfl::rotfl:
  • tomtontom
    tomtontom Posts: 7,929 Forumite
    Options
    You don't have to give them the name of the employer, but travel assistance is discretionary so they don't have to help you.

As above, if you don't wish for the JCP to help then you'll need to borrow funds from elsewhere.
  • patman99
    patman99 Posts: 8,532 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Photogenic First Post
    Options