Making career decisions

Options
LondonTop
LondonTop Posts: 6 Forumite
Something I needed to write down - feel free to offer any advice. :)
_____

Since I was a child, I've always wanted to be a secondary school teacher. I graduated two years ago (I'm now 24) with a degree in Computing, and was offered a job with a tech company that I accepted. For the past two years, I haven't been able to shake the thought of becoming a teacher. I worked in a secondary school for a year before starting my degree, which only fuelled my desire to go into teaching.

Tomorrow, I've got an interview at a huge tech company for a new position, and it's looking promising (this is the third and final interview), yet instead of focusing on researching this company, their areas/markets etc, I once again can't shake the thought of teaching, and am instead looking at spaces that are still available on PGCE courses for this September (shortage subject - many places available).

I can't say I've got a passion for my current job, or the one I've applied for, but the money is great, the opportunities and progressions amazing, but I don't have the 'I'm looking forward to getting to work' feeling that I had when I worked as a TA, or the excitement and 'everyday is different' aspect that comes with teaching.

My parents think I'm crazy for even considering leaving my current job/career, and would think I'm even crazier if I was offered the new job and turned it down to become a teacher. They've phoned around the family telling everyone how excited and proud they are that their son has an interview at XXXX company etc etc. I also keep thinking what if I'm a poor teacher, I don't know enough, I crumble under the pressure/stress etc.

I keep telling myself I'll give it another year and see how it goes. The problem is, I'm not sure anything is going to be different next year, apart from being another year older.

If you haven’t already, join the forum to reply!

[threadbanner]box[/threadbanner]

Comments