ESA, PIP and housing benefit

Options
I am new to sickness benefits and have never had to even think about it before but at the moment I am signed off from work and it's looking like it may become long term so I want to start arming myself with information.

Currently applying for IS and PIP as I'm on SSP, which I think will run out some time in November if I don't go back before then.

I am single and under 35 meaning that I am entitled to the shared room rate only.

What would I have to be in receipt of in order to qualify for the 1 bedroom rate? Is it based on what level of PIP I receive (if any)? Or is it also based on ESA?

I have applied for PIP but of course it is still something of an unknown so I may not receive it, although the look on my doctor's face yesterday suggests I am in for the long haul and very much need additional support, particularly while I fester on waiting lists for treatment.

Thanks for any help!

Comments

• jacques_chirac
    jacques_chirac Posts: 2,825 Forumite
    Options
    Could I ask why you have applied for IS? You do not appear to meet any of the criteria (lone parent and carer being the main ones).

Have you been able to pay your own rent for the past 52 weeks? If so you should qualify for help towards the full rent amount for the first thirteen weeks of your claim. You will not qualify for the full amount to be paid, but the full rent will be classed as your eligible amount, rather than just the LHA rate.
  • 925dancer
    925dancer Posts: 537 Forumite
    Options
    When I did some checking round and when I called I was advised I may be eligible for some IS due to being on SSP but not yet eligible for ESA.

If I get nothing then fair enough, don't know until I try.

I think I'm just shy of 52 weeks, I was claiming JSA until 8th October last year before starting university, which has also had to be put on hold for now.
  • jacques_chirac
    Options