Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Household & Travel > Phones & TV > Mobiles > Is it possible to unlock a Nokia 6300? (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Is it possible to unlock a Nokia 6300?
Closed Thread
Views: 221,875
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
overworked_underpaid
Old 18-05-2007, 5:40 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: London
Posts: 377
Default Is it possible to unlock a Nokia 6300?

Is it possible to unlock a Nokia 6300?
Can't find any info regarding this in the other threads.
overworked_underpaid is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to overworked_underpaid For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 2
hummy
Old 18-05-2007, 6:48 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 173
Default

i have one of these too....if anyone can offer any suggestions that would be great. It is locked onto Orange and the IMEI number is 353933012684267
hummy is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to hummy For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
Russ66
Old 18-05-2007, 7:23 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vale of Glamorgan
Posts: 529
Default

There are a few threads already posted on this subject, I think that you can only get them unlocked by the network provider for a fee.

However,

My mrs has one of these on Orange, and it is already unlocked.
I only found out by mistake when moving her contacts from her O2 sim.
Have you tried another sim or just assumed that it's locked:confused:
You're Damned If You Do & You're Damned If You Don't
Russ66 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to Russ66 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 4
adlech
Old 10-06-2007, 10:03 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Just wondering if anyone has anymore news about unlocking a 6300.
Recently ordered one and was dismayed to find it was locked to orange with the orange branding too.
I've heard that it's been possible to unlock BB5 phones (such as the 6300), with a cable and the necessary software.
Is this true?
Thanks
adlech is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to adlech For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
gsmmad
Old 11-06-2007, 12:57 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 393
Default

depends what network ...ow an by the way these phones work on 3 once unlocked ....

On voda u can get it for free if you have been with them a year or 20 in store or if you have been with them less than 1 year ....I have heard of people doing it for 10 instore these days ...

Orange 20 over the phone...

T-mob you have to have used the contract a month and then its 15

Virgin ...just a call and its freee if u have used over 30 credit on that phone....

o2 you got to be on contract for some time and its free


I may be wrong with some of these but they are correct to my knowladge and im talking mainly on experience ...
gsmmad is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to gsmmad For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
sjc
Old 11-06-2007, 8:30 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Warrington, Cheshire
Posts: 675
Default

The 6300 I picked up from CPW for £96 on O2 PAYG was unlocked. As are all O2 Contract & PAYG Phone I have ever had over the years.
Cheers
Steve
sjc is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to sjc For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 7
FF99
Old 12-06-2007, 11:39 AM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

I have an Orange locked 6300. Is the only option to call them ?
FF99 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to FF99 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 8
akabee
Old 12-06-2007, 12:35 PM
Serious MoneySaving Fan
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 860
Default

You can unlock the 6300 for nowt.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/....html?t=383930
Read the bit about bb5 or look for the name Dejan (your model of phone is not in the list but it will work).

This lot are charging 40 to unlock your phone with the same free software:confused:
http://www.fonefunshop.co.uk/Unlocking/nokiabb5.htm
akabee is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to akabee For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 9
james-73
Old 12-06-2007, 9:34 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 492
Send a message via MSN to james-73 Send a message via Skype™ to james-73
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akabee View Post
You can unlock the 6300 for nowt.

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/....html?t=383930
Read the bit about bb5 or look for the name Dejan (your model of phone is not in the list but it will work).

This lot are charging 40 to unlock your phone with the same free software:confused:
http://www.fonefunshop.co.uk/Unlocking/nokiabb5.htm

it will not work on a 6300 which uses a rap3.0, also if you try it will damage the phone.

fonefunshop are charging 40.00 because the equipment to unlock these is about 3700.00 GBP and has limited logs used to unlock the phones:

http://www.fonefunshop.co.uk/Unlocking/mtboxpro.htm

unlocking Nokia's has gone from free to the most expensive, this is the way all phones are going because of the protection.

br
james-73 is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to james-73 For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 10
jdearauj
Old 24-07-2007, 1:51 PM
MoneySaving Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,

Just thought I would let you know I got my Vodafone Nokia 6300 unlocked through Vodafone. I had also been around to various stores and none of them could unlock a 6300. So I just phoned up Vodafone and explained I needed the phone unlocked. They asked for the IMEI(think this is what it is called) number which is on the phone under the battery and my e-mail address. I gave them those details and within 30 seconds I had a e-mail with a code to unlock the phone. The only issue was you needed to have a Vodafone sim card in the phone first to unlock it with the code they gave, then once it was unlocked it would work with any sim card.

Hope this helps.

Jay
jdearauj is offline
Report Post
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to jdearauj For This Useful Post: Show me >>
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 3:44 AM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 17 December 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile
  • Homes in Council Tax bands H and I will be included in the new Flood Re insurance scheme from next year, the Govt has announced today
  • Want to eat out for £5ish? Of course you do, full details in our Deals Hunters blog: http://t.co/OwyziST0dr #dealshunters
  • RT @MSE_Deals: Get £20 off when you spend £100 or more on technology or home electricals at Tesco Direct with online code. Ends Sun http://?