Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • NeoVR2k6
    • By NeoVR2k6 7th Feb 13, 9:55 PM
    • 102Posts
    • 15Thanks
    NeoVR2k6
    "Fair wear and tear" in the bathroom.
    • 7th Feb 13, 9:55 PM
    "Fair wear and tear" in the bathroom. 7th Feb 13 at 9:55 PM
    Im planning to soon move out of the flat ive been renting for the last four years (2005 build) when my house purchase finally goes through - but im slowly starting the cleanup operation in advance to ensure theres no reason for any deposit to be witheld.

The question i have is regarding the silicon seals around the shower cubicle - over the last four years despite my best efforts have started to get mould embedded in them and the grout around the tiles is starting to discolour.
    Now from what ive read on these boards.. once its in the silicon its futile to fix it without removing and resealing - do you think this will count against me and cause issues when i leave? - given the whole flat is now 8 years old - what is the expected lifespan of these kind of fixtures and fittings.

When i obtained the original check-in report - it was noted "bathroom seals grubby" - so if the worst comes to the worst i will call on this to say the issue had already begun and its progression could only be slowed from then on.

Also, a couple of the tiles on the floor in the bathroom have cracked - however at least one was already cracked when i moved in, this is clearly due to the cement crumbling away around and under.. again do i have any recourse if they try to retain part of my deposit because of this?