Main site > MoneySavingExpert.com Forums > Essential Money > House Buying, Renting & Selling > Lost my Energy Performance Certificate (Page 1)

IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

  • Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

    Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

  • No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
Lost my Energy Performance Certificate
Closed Thread
Views: 3,058
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
# 1
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 1:08 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default Lost my Energy Performance Certificate

Moved into a new build 5 years ago. Afraid I cannot recall if I was given an EPC. Searched high and low but no sign of one in any of the welcome packs from the builders etc.

Now, the EA needs one to sell my home. First, is it worth contacting the builder? Do they keep records of this kind of thing? Was thinking I may be able to get another copy?

If not, then where's the best place to get a new one at the best price. I know the EA will arrange it but think you'd be paying way over the odds.

Thanks
united4ever is offline
Report Post
# 2
G_M
Old 01-07-2012, 4:56 PM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 26,820
Default

See this thread here.

Or check the EPC Register. Or

Ask the builder/seller
a) if he has a copy or
b) who he used to do the EPC - they should have a copy
G_M is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to G_M For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 3
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 7:40 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default

Thanks, I will contact the builder. The register requires you to enter the report number which is on the certificate....since I have no certificate I cannot enter that. Thanks
united4ever is offline
Report Post
# 4
vectistim
Old 01-07-2012, 7:43 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Loughborough/Isle of Wight
Posts: 586
Default

They changed the rules in April, you can now search via postcode.
https://www.epcregister.com/reportSe...ressByPostcode
IANAL etc.

Last edited by vectistim; 01-07-2012 at 7:44 PM. Reason: Typo
vectistim is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to vectistim For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 5
johnnyredgate
Old 01-07-2012, 7:44 PM
MoneySaving Convert
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 122
Default

We managed to access ours from a register without knowing the report number, think we were able to do it from the address from memory
johnnyredgate is offline
Report Post
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to johnnyredgate For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 6
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 7:59 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default

Just spotted that option...Thanks, trying it now
united4ever is offline
Report Post
# 7
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 8:04 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default

Hmmm seems there isn't one for my flat - I can't remember so perhaps the builder didn't provide one after all when I moved in. Thought they had to for all new builds. The builder was Rok who have since gone into administration I believe so perhaps I will have to pay for one here.
united4ever is offline
Report Post
# 8
vectistim
Old 01-07-2012, 8:17 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Loughborough/Isle of Wight
Posts: 586
Default

5 years ago? That makes it 2007 which was the start year with 3 beds starting in IIRC September, so there may not be one. When exactly did you buy?
IANAL etc.
vectistim is offline
Report Post
# 9
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 8:21 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default

Thanks for the info....bought in October 2007
united4ever is offline
Report Post
# 10
vectistim
Old 01-07-2012, 8:30 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Loughborough/Isle of Wight
Posts: 586
Default

If its 3 beds or more it probably should have had one otherwise I think not.
4 beds August
3 beds September
Everything December
Unless it was on the market before those dates.
Looks like you'll have to get a new one
IANAL etc.
vectistim is offline
Report Post
The Following User Says Thank You to vectistim For This Useful Post: Show me >>
# 11
united4ever
Old 01-07-2012, 8:33 PM
MoneySaving Stalwart
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 231
Default

Thanks again, it's 2 beds - will get one. It was well worth asking here though
united4ever is offline
Report Post
Closed Thread

Bookmarks
 
 




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

 Forum Jump  

Contact Us - MoneySavingExpert.com - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

All times are GMT. The time now is 2:56 PM.

 Forum Jump  

Free MoneySaving Email

Top deals: Week of 17 December 2014

Get all this & more in MoneySavingExpert's weekly email full of guides, vouchers and Deals

GET THIS FREE WEEKLY EMAIL Full of deals, guides & it's spam free

Latest News & Blogs

Martin's Twitter Feed

profile

Cheap Travel Money

Find the best online rate for holiday cash with MSE's TravelMoneyMax.

Find the best online rate for your holiday cash with MoneySavingExpert's TravelMoneyMax.

MSE's Twitter Feed

profile