Car accident, is this right?

Options
misskool
misskool Posts: 12,832 Forumite
Combo Breaker First Post
Hi all,

My car met another car this afternoon.

Spoke to insurance who say it's half liability (split between drivers) but wanted to check.

I was going onto a roundabout on left hand lane (6o'clock), thinking my exit was the second one (about 10o'clock). But as I went past the first exit (8o'clock) I realised I made a mistake and as I went past the second exit, I indicated right but still on the left hand lane. As I was nearing the third exit (12 o'clock), a car from the inside lane, drove past me and clipped my front wing panel and front bumper. I pulled off 12o'clock (this is dual carriageway a road) and we swapped details.

I am a new driver, 2 years clean drivers license, zero years ncb. I don't know how badly his car was damaged as its my first car and I went into shock.

insurance (admiral) have said it's split liability and unless I need to write the car off it's not worth claiming, so I would get it repaired privately for the excess (£250). I would get to keep one years ncb if he doesn't claim as well, which would offset the increase in premium as I had an accident. Insurance man says normally most people don't claim when it's an accident like this.

A friend has said that my premium would go up a lot and that it was his fault (I feel I made a bad call but in the eyes of the law, was I wrong?).

Any advice anyone? The car is a 14 year old citroen, runs well and drove it home after the ding.

Comments

• USM
    USM Posts: 317 Forumite
    Options
    You were in the left lane turning right - it sounds like you were at fault?
  • misskool
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    USM wrote: »
    You were in the left lane turning right - it sounds like you were at fault?

left lane of roundabout, indicating right.

Will try to get a drawing think that would make it easier?
  • asbokid
    asbokid Posts: 2,008 Forumite
    Options