We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Student ISA help.

Options
I currently have £3500+ placed within a Barclays ISA. I have just received my student loan (£1,176) that will be used to pay my accommodation on 22nd Jan.

Between now and the payment date I was looking to invest the loan plus what I already have either in the same or a new possibly higher rate ISA. I was discussing this with my Dad who said that as a student I would not be charged tax so I would not necessarily need my money in an ISA. Is this true as I thought as a student I would be liable for tax on interest.

Secondly, what accounts would people recommend to me? I would require some sort of access as I do dip into these funds every so often to pay accommodation as well as other expenses. So far I have only used £1,900 of allowance this tax year.

Thanks
Lawpf2001

Comments

• jem16
    jem16 Posts: 19,404 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Photogenic
    Options
    Lawpf2001 wrote: »
    Between now and the payment date I was looking to invest the loan plus what I already have either in the same or a new possibly higher rate ISA.

If the ISA is not for this tax year you can open a new ISA. If it is for this tax year you can pay more into it up to £5100.
    I was discussing this with my Dad who said that as a student I would not be charged tax so I would not necessarily need my money in an ISA. Is this true as I thought as a student I would be liable for tax on interest.

Students are liable for tax in the same way as anyone else. You have a personal allowance of £6475. If you earn less than this then you are not a taxpayer so would be able to ask for gross interest to be paid.
  • Lokolo
    Lokolo Posts: 20,861 Forumite