Children helping parents get out of debt

isy1011
isy1011 Posts: 513 Forumite
edited 5 October 2010 at 2:23PM in Debt-free wannabe
I have read a few threads on here now about 'children' helping their parents get out of debt.

Im not sure what people think about it but it does seem to be too much of a burden for 20,30,40 somethings who are trying to build their own lives, raise children, afford much more expensive mortgages than their parents, have cuts to their savings and pensions that they also have this burden aswell.

[threadbanner] box [/threadbanner]
Egg April 10 £6600 Jan £4678 now £0
Santander Jan £3414 April £3338
Virgin April£2643 Aug £3155 April £7109
Barclaycard Oct £1476 April £1287
So far paid off 17% of c.c. debt:T

Comments

• I see where you are coming from, but I wouldnt be where I am without my parents support.
    I'm not a big earner, but if my parents ever needed anything, I'd do what I could for them.
    Geek by Nature.. Geek by Profession!
    Home Owner as of 01/10/2014
    Married to my Soul mate 15/06/2018
  • I think familes should stick together, help each other if they can. I have helped my parents out a few times and they have helped me.

I know when me and my BF have children my Mum would childmind them for me for free (I wouldn't let her do it for free but she would never ask for money), I doubt we could afford children without her help or at least not for a long while.

I’m back and more determined than ever!!!!!
  • isy1011
    Oh yes that is true. We all contribute to my mums nursing home fees but we always anticipated that would be the case and we do that happily. It does seem to me though that there is a generation of people who are shouldering the financial burden from both ends.