Pros and Cons of Pre-Paid Funeral Plans

Options
I cannot see an earlier thread on this topic, but if I have missed one then apologies in advance.

My parents, in their late 80s, are looking into these plans and I have no experience of the advantages and/or disadvantages of using them, so thought I would consult the collective wisdom of MSE, hoping to be able to tap into some actual experience.

Obvious advantages seem to include fixing the cost at today's level and being able to negotiate exactly the arrangements you want for yourself. Against that, what happens if the Funeral Director involved goes out of business?

I am sure there are many other points to be considered

Comments

• dzug1
    dzug1 Posts: 13,535 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    The plans are normally with an insurance company, not directly with the undertaker, so that's a non-worry.

And it's been discussed very recently - only one page down at the moment

http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.html?t=1749865
  • scotsbob
    scotsbob Posts: 4,632 Forumite
    Options
    JPSC wrote: »
    I cannot see an earlier thread on this topic, but if I have missed one then apologies in advance.

My parents, in their late 80s, are looking into these plans and I have no experience of the advantages and/or disadvantages of using them, so thought I would consult the collective wisdom of MSE, hoping to be able to tap into some actual experience.

Obvious advantages seem to include fixing the cost at today's level and being able to negotiate exactly the arrangements you want for yourself. Against that, what happens if the Funeral Director involved goes out of business?

I am sure there are many other points to be considered