IMPORTANT! This is MoneySavingExpert's open forum - anyone can post

Please exercise caution & report any spam, illegal, offensive, racist, libellous post to forumteam@moneysavingexpert.com

• Be nice to all MoneySavers
  • All the best tips go in the MoneySavingExpert weekly email

Plus all the new guides, deals & loopholes

• No spam/referral links
or Login with Facebook
ISA Allowance levels
Closed Thread
Views: 7,682
# 1
Renfro
Old 22-11-2008, 3:04 AM
MoneySaving Convert

Question ISA Allowance levels

I'm new to this ISA malarkey and only opened my first cash ISA just over a month ago (putting in the full 3,600 allowance for 2008/2009).

I'd like to know how much I will need to set aside for next April, but I don't know what the limit will be for 2009/2010.

Does the ISA allowance level go up every year, or was the increase last year an exception?

The current allowance limit is quite paltry, so I'm hoping that it's not going to stay stuck at 3,600.
# 2
jamesd
Old 22-11-2008, 7:32 AM
Deliciously Dedicated Diehard MoneySaving Devotee

It was an exception. There are some advocating that it be increased during the pre-Budget report. We'll see.
# 3
Baldur
Old 22-11-2008, 9:30 AM
Fantastically Fervent MoneySaving Super Fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by Renfro View Post
The current allowance limit is quite paltry, so I'm hoping that it's not going to stay stuck at 3,600.
The previous limit (which was static from the introduction of ISAs in April 1999) was 3,000 - until it was increased in April 2008.
# 4
Renfro
Old 22-11-2008, 1:25 PM
MoneySaving Convert

Thank you very much for your replies.

Well that certainly explains why I couldn't find a list of historical ISA allowance rates when I was searching online. Originally I thought the ISA allowance might increase annually (in a similar way to income tax personal allowance).