Hair help - I'm useless!

Options
For years I've had shoulder length hair but am growing it out and it's a few inches past my shoulders now.
I wear it down 99% of the time purely because I have literally no idea how to put it up. I'm not even very good at putting it in a ponytail without it looking messy - I don't know what to do with my parting when I tie it up :o
I don't know how to do a bun either, other than the type where you pull it back through the hairband after making a pontytail - I really am at absolute beginner level when it comes to hair but I'm too old to be such a scruff!

Can anyone suggest some simple but pretty up-do's I could try? Any youtube tutorials anyone would recommend?

Comments

• helcat26
    helcat26 Posts: 1,119 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker I've been Money Tipped!
    Options
    Hi -I am useless too, but found these very useful as I could tie my hair back then weave the ponytail in with the scrunchie to make a big messy bun. It must match well though!
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Hair-Scrunchie-Bun-Hairpiece-Elastic-Synthetic-Natural-Look-Hair-Extention-/182534970041?var=&hash=item2a7fee9ab9:m:mlgjhvOLVggdwYm-eSp-CFA
  • teddysmum
    teddysmum Posts: 9,471 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    I used to have long hair, with no problems, but have had it cut short since my forties.

At first I had a perm, which was just wash and comb through, but after a couple of unsatisfactory experiences (different hairdressers) gave that up and just went for style and colour.

However, it is a waste of effort for the hairdresser to show me the back, as I never get it right myself. (Pity wigs aren't in fashion, again.)
  • catherinekate
    Options
    Claire's sell (or used to) a bun maker which is two bits of foam, you roll your hair up around it and sort of snap it together, and it makes a bun. There are instructions on the box, it takes a bit of practice though.