Help to Buy ISA - is it worth as an alternative to a regular ISA

Options
The Halifax Help to Buy ISA offers 4% interest, which is way more than a regular ISA. At first glance, it seems better than a regular ISA, even for people who aren't planning on buying a house (of course, they must have never owned a house to qualify).

However, I'm not sure if that's the case.

1) As I understand it, you can transfer your previous cash ISAs. I've been using an ISA since 2006, so I've got quite a lot saved up!

However, it seems you only get 4% interest on the first £1600, so that's less interest compared to a regular ISA (which have lower rates but give you interest on the full ISA amount).

2) You can only pay in £200 a month. So you can't make use of 2016 £15,000 tax free allowance.

Is my thinking correct?
It seems to be made for people who don't have large savings and so want to start saving (which is fair enough!). That's not my situation, as I already having a lot saved up from using the ISA since 2006.

I just want to double check, just in case my thinking is wrong and I am missing out on potential benefits..

Comments

• jimjames
    jimjames Posts: 17,624 Forumite
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    Yes you are correct.

You can only pay in up to the limits which are lower than the total.

However for pretty much anyone planning on buying a house (and most of those that aren't too) a cash ISA is completely pointless.

It's far better to 5% and 6% and pay tax than get 1% or less tax free.
    Remember the saying: if it looks too good to be true it almost certainly is.
  • littly_kitty
    Options
    jimjames wrote: »
    However for pretty much anyone planning on buying a house (and most of those that aren't too) a cash ISA is completely pointless.

It's far better to 5% and 6% and pay tax than get 1% or less tax free.