how / if to fund my kids uni expenses

Options
Hello, after some advice please, posted this also in the student money saving forum.

I find myself parent to some teenagers, and the eldest is looking at universities. it appears that the world has moved on a bit since I was a student. I suspect the next generation of Singh's experiences will be a little different -and more expensive- than mine were.

I love the idea that my kids/young adults might graduate with no debt, as I did. However I'm not sure if that's realistic ambition for our family financially. I'm interested to know how much it costs to live as a student in 2016/17 and how common it is for parents to fund either living expenses, tuition fees, or both?

My gut feeling is that we will probably fund our student offspring's living expenses while they will take out loans to cover tuition. Along side this, we envisage saving on their behalf. When they graduate they may choose to use some of this money to pay back student loans, or as a deposit on a flat, or for whatever purpose they choose actually as it will become their money.

How does that sound as a plan?

Strange, I bllnked and over twenty five years seem to have elapsed since I was a student. But here's how I remember the finances working:
- There were no tuition fees.
- I got a grant from the government for about £1000 per term.
- From this I paid to live in a hall of residence which cost about £600 per term and the rest I spent on beer, I mean textbooks.
- Perhaps my parents chipped in too although I think this mainly took the form of food parcels and train tickets home.
- I had no mobile phone and no computer (nobody did), no subscriptions, no insurance, basically a very cheap life. I did however have a bike, a CD player, some CDs mainly Nirvana, and a denim jacket.
- I graduated with no money and no debt. When I started work my first pay check was about £1000 and I felt rich as a king.