Child Maintenance Query

Options
gunnapaul2
gunnapaul2 Posts: 97 Forumite
edited 9 August 2015 at 7:38PM in MoneySaving dads
Me and my ex separated in April and I've since moved out and now living alone. I have the kids two nights a week and sometimes during daytime randomly before I go to work. She has since met someone else and he has been staying round the house with her near enough every night. I'm a self employed taxi driver full time and pay my taxes. I claim no benefits.

My queries are, 1. Do I still need to pay child maintenance with him living with her unofficially? He is in full time employment. 2. Because my wage is dependent on how busy work is, how should I work out what to pay if I have to? 3. Can I seek free legal advice on this subject, and who with if so?

I'd like to point out I have my kids best interests at heart, nothing else. I also paid her £1k when I left (cash in hand, no proof) to help her out (from my inheritance money) and paid a month's rent in advance (bank transfer to landlord). She doesn't work and never has, she claims benefits. I've been paying her £150 a month for the time being.

Not interested in people's opinions of me or her, just want advice please. I have checked the government website, it's very brief details. Paul.

Comments

• Gigglepig
    Gigglepig Posts: 1,270 Forumite
    edited 9 August 2015 at 8:03PM
    Options
    gunnapaul2 wrote: »
    My queries are, 1. Do I still need to pay child maintenance with him living with her unofficially? He is in full time employment. 2. Because my wage is dependent on how busy work is, how should I work out what to pay if I have to? 3. Can I seek free legal advice on this subject, and who with if so?

I'd like to point out I have my kids best interests at heart, nothing else. .

1. Yes. It is child maintenance so it is irrelevant whether she has a new boyfriend. Your kids still needs clothed and fed.