Why doesn't everyone just buy Vanguard LifeStrategy?

Options
I'm fairly new to this investing thing and have a fair amount of cash invested in Vanguard LifeStrategy funds. In the three weeks or so that I have had them they seem to have gone up nearly 2%.

I've been reading a lot about investing both online and in the books that I have seen frequently recommended.

I've concluded that "passive investing" is the way to go and all the research seems to point to the fact that you might as well just use tracking funds and find a ones with low charges - hence Vanguard for me.

I've come to the rather cynical conclusion that financial advisers might be a breed who make their money from people who have lots of money but haven't the time or inclination to do a bit of research - and people who haven't worked out that you don't need to worry about all the complexity.

It seems to me that there is something of an "open secret" about Vanguard LifeStrategy in that they are great but the industry doesn't want everyone to know this because they'd all be out of a job!

I'm wondering what people on here think of this?

Comments

• EdGasketTheSecond
    Options
    Because I don't want any exposure to bonds right now!
  • TrustyOven
    TrustyOven Posts: 746 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options
    Murmansk wrote: »
    I'm fairly new to this investing thing and have a fair amount of cash invested in Vanguard LifeStrategy funds. In the three weeks or so that I have had them they seem to have gone up nearly 2%.

Beware that that is a very short timescale and depending on the fund chosen, the fund pricer per unit could fluctuate +- 2 or more %.

Eg. the Vanguard LifeStrategy fund I have went -3 to -4%.

So don't be duped into thinking that they will always give you 2% return.
    Goals
    Save £12k in 2017 #016 (£4212.06 / £10k) (42.12%)
    Save £12k in 2016 #041 (£4558.28 / £6k) (75.97%)
    Save £12k in 2014 #192 (£4115.62 / £5k) (82.3%)
  • jimjames