Deemed contract terms

Options
As a lawyer, I've come across numerous instances where gas and electric consumers have seemingly had contracts imposed on them.

The Gas Act and the Utilities Act 2000 provide that an existing supplier shall have the right to continue the supply to a supplied premises when an occupier moves out and another moves in.

It has come to my notice that certain companies, and British Gas being the main offender, are using a set of words to consumers that suggests the supplier is entitled to impose a contract on the consumer at the property. This is not the case. Neither the Gas Act nor the Utilities Act provide for any form of imposed contract, often referred to by suppliers as a "deemed contract" upon the consumer.

In case this information should be relevant to viewers of this forum, I outline here a real case scenario that may help viewers who have had a "deemed contract" imposed on them by the supplier.

Example real life scenario:

A tenant of a property reached an agreement with the landlord that the rent the tenant paid would be inclusive of gas.

Almost 3 years after the tenant moved in, British Gas sent a letter to "The Occupier", stating that urgent contact with British Gas was required to avoid disconnection of supply.

The tenant contacted the phone number on the letter, whereby the call centre operative started to take details of the tenant, his name & address and how long he had been at the property.

A few weeks later the tenant received a bill in his name. The bill included estimated bills for previous periods.

I looked at this case and advised the tenant that as he had not agreed to any terms, or been shown a contract, or been told that it was the supplier's intention to bind the tenant into legal relations, he was not liable to pay any money to the supplier.