Frozen food safety- misconceptions

It seems like not a day goes by on the OS board without this question being asked in some form-

How long can I keep food in the freezer before it goes off?

The answer is forever. Food cannot go bad in the freezer if it is working correctly.

Freezing keeps food safe because it is too cold for the bugs which cause food to spoil to grow. Once you defrost food any bugs that may have been present before freezing will start to grow again. I'm no expert, but this is how it works in simple terms, expert views welcome please;)

It is possible to freeze any food (provided it isn't in a tin).

Although it is possible to freeze anything it is not always desirable because some foods don't hold their texture once defrosted. This is why food packaging sometimes advises not to freeze. Foods that don't hold up well in the freezer include mayonnaise, raw shell eggs, strawberries and lettuce. Some foods are a matter of personal preference -I think cooked pasta goes mushy in the freezer, cooked chunks of potato have a weird texture after being frozen, and some people (not me :p:D ) think previously frozen bread is a no-no.

The other important safety rule when freezing is that you must only freeze things once. Don't defrost things and then refreeze. You can however, defrost raw fish or meat, cook it and then freeze it in its cooked state. For example you can buy some raw mince and freeze it. You can later defrost it and make it into bolognese sauce. It is perfectly safe to freeze the sauce, defrost it and serve it for tea. However see what the USDA has to say about refreezing.

I hope this is of some help to those unsure of using their freezers. I am curious to know where the idea that food goes off in the freezer is coming from as it seems so widespread. Is it from schools, TV, where?

Comments

• Pollycat
    Pollycat Posts: 34,541
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post Savvy Shopper!
    Forumite
    Great post, Thriftlady.