IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Postal PCN for not paying for a ticket - possible faulty machine

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can help me. It's my first time receiving a parking ticket and I'm wondering whether there's any point appealing it or not.

I entered a Smart Parking car park last month and after parking went to the machine to pay. It only took cash and I didn't have any, so my partner quickly went to the shop across the road to get change (The machine was one where you put your reg number in rather than get a ticket to display in your car). Once my partner was back with some change, I put £1 in the machine and entered my reg number and it seemed to have gone through - but when I walked away I thought I heard the money drop as if it hadn't processed the transaction. After walking for a few minutes I decided to go and double check if the transaction had worked and I found the £1 in the change part of the machine - thus my transaction hadn't worked. I didn't think to take a picture of the machine or anything and it didn't say it was out of order. Instead I decided to just park somewhere else, so drove out of the car park.

My PCN says I entered the site at 14:27 and left at 14:39. So literally 12 minutes. I think it's really bad they are charging me £60 (£100 if i don't pay within 14 days) for 12 minutes in their car park, especially when i tried to pay and my transaction didn't go through! - If they have CCTV pointed at the machine then i can prove i put money in and tried to pay....

Is this likely to get rejected at appeal stage? I'm a little worried about the possibility of going to court etc. and all the stress and hassle the whole process will cause.