Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • Rjhsteel
    • By Rjhsteel 15th Jan 20, 1:48 PM
    • 134Posts
    • 11Thanks
    Rjhsteel
    Thinking of buying some property for letting...advice please.
    • 15th Jan 20, 1:48 PM
    Thinking of buying some property for letting...advice please. 15th Jan 20 at 1:48 PM
    Had a conversation with my brother in law about buying some cheap property and letting out.
    I'm a complete novice in this area. Could someone point me in the right direction please.
    Books and websites that help me would be a good start. Thanks
Page 1
    • spadoosh
    • By spadoosh 15th Jan 20, 1:54 PM
    • 8,017 Posts
    • 11,963 Thanks
    spadoosh
    • 15th Jan 20, 1:54 PM
    • 15th Jan 20, 1:54 PM
    HMRC and government websites will give you and idea of your responsibilities.

https://www.gov.uk/browse/housing-local-services/landlords

https://www.gov.uk/renting-out-a-property/paying-tax

These forums are probably as good as any for typical problems that might arise and highlighting what should be expected of a landlord.
    Don't be angry!
    • theartfullodger
    • By theartfullodger 15th Jan 20, 1:55 PM
    • 10,766 Posts
    • 15,062 Thanks
    theartfullodger
    • 15th Jan 20, 1:55 PM
    • 15th Jan 20, 1:55 PM
    Only do so if you have the financial AND emotional reserves to cope with the tenant-from-hell (or agent-from..) who forgets to pay rent for 7onths whilst you pay mortgage, legal costs to evict, repairs.