Short driving licence validity, help!

Hello all,

I'm a relatively new driver of three years. On renewing my car insurance, I've realised that my driving licence expired just four months after I'd received it... so it would appear that I've been breaking the law for around 2.5 years.

I've attempted to renew the licence (gov.uk/renew-driving-licence), but have been notified that I'm "Ineligible for service".

I've also now checked the 'view driving record service' website for licence validity (viewdrivingrecord.service.gov.uk), which confirms that my full driving licence has expired, and I do not have any current driving entitlement.

Some questions to anybody that might be able to assist:
  1. Why might a licence be issued for such a short period of time?
  2. Should I have been notified that renewal would be necessary on initial receipt of the licence?
  3. Is there not usually a letter or other form of notification before or after the expiry date?
  4. Seeing as there will be clear record of me paying car tax & insurance all this time, should I not have been hunted down, beaten & jailed by now?
  5. What would you say is likely to happen when I talk to them? A hefty fine? Prosecution? Banishment from society?
  6. Do you think it is likely that I will have to take a full driving test again?

Thank you for taking the time to read :o

Comments

• elakay wrote: »
    Hello all,

I'm a relatively new driver of three years. On renewing my car insurance, I've realised that my driving licence expired just four months after I'd received it... so it would appear that I've been breaking the law for around 2.5 years.

I've attempted to renew the licence (gov.uk/renew-driving-licence), but have been notified that I'm "Ineligible for service".

I've also now checked the 'view driving record service' website for licence validity (viewdrivingrecord.service.gov.uk), which confirms that my full driving licence has expired, and I do not have any current driving entitlement.