Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • reym
    • By reym 10th Nov 18, 9:35 PM
    • 1Posts
    • 0Thanks
    reym
    Student duped into becoming mole
    • 10th Nov 18, 9:35 PM
    Student duped into becoming mole 10th Nov 18 at 9:35 PM
    Hello,
    I am an International student studying in the UK. Recently an acquaintance from university told me if I gave him my sort code and account number, and withdrew some cash he would give me 300 pounds. I stupidly accepted, as I really needed some money for day to day expenses at that time.

On the day 5000 pounds was entered into my account, I went withdrew it and gave it to him. Two days later, my bank account was closed and the bank sent a letter saying I have 16 days to withdraw any remaining funds in my account. I think I have a CIFAS marker on me, but am not sure.

I am currently scared of any implications I may face and would like to get some advice on what to do, and if there are any serious issues I may face, besides not being able to open a UK bank account. I currently have 8 more months before I finish my degree, and would like to know if there could be long-term repercussions, and the chances of me facing prosecution or being arrested for this.
Page 1
    • Gary_Dexter
    • By Gary_Dexter 10th Nov 18, 9:41 PM
    • 2,552 Posts
    • 1,435 Thanks
    Gary_Dexter
    • 10th Nov 18, 9:41 PM
    • 10th Nov 18, 9:41 PM
    The CIFAS will be there for 6 years.

What category CIFAS marker was applied?