Unusual house construction?

As an electrician I've worked on many different types of buildings over the years but I've recently started renovating a house and it seems to have been built in an unusual way.

It's a 2 bedroom semi built in the early 1920s, red bricks to the ground floor and a roughcast render finish to the 1st floor. Whilst the external walls to the ground floor have a cavity with an inner leaf made of heavy, 3 inch thick concrete blocks it appears that the 1st floor external walls have no cavity and have been laid with solid concrete blocks about 8 inches thick. There is also a hard render on inside of these upstairs walls, up to about 18 inches above the floor boards, which I can only assume was because of some kind of historic damp issue. All the internal walls have been built using heavy, 2 inch thick concrete blocks including one that was sat on top of the floorboards.

Has anyone else encountered this kind of construction?

Comments

• FreeBear
    FreeBear Posts: 14,599 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Name Dropper Photogenic
    I have a semi built in 1928/9 that has brick cavity walls on the ground floor and solid double thickness solid brick on the upper floor. The top half is rendered and pebble-dashed, and the lower finished with a soft local facing brick.

Internally, partition walls on the ground floor are single skin brick built off concrete foundations below the suspended wooden floor. Upstairs, one single skin brick wall divides the house in half - This is a continuation of the partition wall downstairs and provides support for the roof structure. The remaining upstairs walls are of a wooden stud construction.

All walls and ceilings are finished in a lime plaster that appears to be mixed from sharp sand and slapped on. Although the finish is reasonably smooth, it is far from flat and even.

In all, a fairly typical construction for many houses built between the war years.
    Her courage will change the world.