Self employed and Housing Benefit

Good morning everyone,

I was wondering if someone can help with my confusion. I did search on the forum but I didn't find anything relevant, so I do apologise if these questions have been answered before and I just didn't find them.

I have been recently dismissed from my full time job, out of the blue, with just one week's notice (as per my contract unfortunately) and I really need to find a solution asap in order to pay my bills next month.

I am a Graphic Designer and because I can't find another job NOW - I have applied to every single Graphic Designer job opening in my area but nothing came out - I thought that maybe I could do freelance work and register as self-employed. But since I haven't done this before, I don't know if it will actually work. So I thought I might be able to claim benefits just for the first few months, until I get some clients and start earning a decent income.

I started looking around, asked the council, called the HMRC, went to the Job Centre, but because I am not entitled to Universal Credit yet (due to the area I live at) every organisation tells me different things and now I'm totally confused. I already know that if I'm self employed, I can't claim Job Seekers Allowance (at least that's what they told me at the council).

Can someone please tell me, if I can claim any benefits at all, being self employed and without knowing how much money I'll be earning from now on? How will I know what to write as income (future projections) on my application for Housing Benefit if I haven't done this before and don't actually know how much I'll be earning?

And if I can actually claim benefits, when will I stop receiving benefits payments? I mean, after which amount earned, is someone not entitled to benefits anymore? This really scares me as last thing I need, is to get overpaid and have to return this money back as I might simply not have the money to pay it back!