Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • mollie0690
    • By mollie0690 17th Apr 18, 7:37 PM
    • 2Posts
    • 0Thanks
    mollie0690
    Debt Management plan and a mortgage?
    • 17th Apr 18, 7:37 PM
    Debt Management plan and a mortgage? 17th Apr 18 at 7:37 PM
    Hi - looking for a bit of advice...I have been on a DMP for a few years now i've only got about (£4000) to pay but its had an impact on my credit score. I am currently a student so unable to pay off big chucks of this but I was wondering if there was a way of improving my credit score in the mean time? I see they have credit cards to help people with poor credit but I don't know if this would be the best idea? I want my credit score to improve as my partner and I are looking to get a mortgage end of this year/start of next using the help to buy scheme. I don't want my poor credit history to ruin it for us! Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
Page 1
    • Jaywood89
    • By Jaywood89 17th Apr 18, 7:47 PM
    • 160 Posts
    • 74 Thanks
    Jaywood89
    • 17th Apr 18, 7:47 PM
    • 17th Apr 18, 7:47 PM
    Iím not an expert so take my advice with a pinch of salt, Iím sure someone with better experience will come along and help.

You need to speak to a mortgage broker. It should be free for an initial talk.

As for credit cards, you are a way off from there yet. The most important thing to do is pay off your DMP.

If you think about it if you were a lender would you want to trust large amounts of money to someone on a DMP? With £4000 outstanding?