PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING

Hello Forumites! In order to help keep the Forum a useful, safe and friendly place for our users, discussions around non-MoneySaving matters are not permitted per the Forum rules. While we understand that mentioning house prices may sometimes be relevant to a user's specific MoneySaving situation, we ask that you please avoid veering into broad, general debates about the market, the economy and politics, as these can unfortunately lead to abusive or hateful behaviour. Threads that are found to have derailed into wider discussions may be removed. Users who repeatedly disregard this may have their Forum account banned. Please also avoid posting personally identifiable information, including links to your own online property listing which may reveal your address. Thank you for your understanding.

First time buyer woes

Options
Hi everyone, I’m very new to MSE and the world of adulting. I bought my first home in September last year and have had problem after problem.

I am after some advice from you all if possible. I’ve not got the deed to the property yet and my solicitor has been pretty evasive so far. Finally they have admitted they’ve not been able to register due to a charge against the property.. great what does that mean! I’ve done some googling but am still a bit unclear and I’ve rang to speak to the land registry who’ve told me my application will be cancelled for the second time if they don’t provide proof of discharge of the charge on the property and it’s down to my solicitor to chase the sellers!

I’m worried because we are 8 months down the line now what will happen if the land registry cancels my application for the second time and what will happen to the charge on the property if they can’t arrange for it to be discharged...

I’m a totally newbie at all of this so would appreciate some sage old advice

Thank you

Katie

Comments

• Mermaid89
    Mermaid89 Posts: 107 Forumite
    Options