Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • vv1
    • By vv1 14th Apr 18, 11:57 AM
    • 4Posts
    • 0Thanks
    vv1
    Debt Repayment on Credit File
    • 14th Apr 18, 11:57 AM
    Debt Repayment on Credit File 14th Apr 18 at 11:57 AM
    Hello Everyone.

I was a sole trader in 2005 running a small business and at the time, I had opened a commercial business account with Bank of Scotland.
    In 2008, I had to close the business down and could not pay the overdraft that was still left outstanding. As I owe them and I still owe them, I have been paying them 40 a month.
    Over the time, the account was transferred to Hillesden Securities, known as Cabot Financial. Cabot Financial writes me letters informing of my up-to-date account statement etc. I have been still paying them and we will clear this debt soon.

This account never showed up on any of my Credit reports with mostly all known credit referencing agencies.

However, I received a letter from Cabot financial state that they decided to deal with my account directly and will show as Cabot financial instead of Hillesden securities, etc. The bottom right pane of the letter states: "This account may be shown on your credit file and may be hard to obtain credit from other lenders".

I have been paying them since, and never missed any payments in my arrangement and I don't want to write this debt off as it is my debt and I truly am responsible for it as I used the overdraft for the business.

Although I have never seen this marked on my credit file since 2005, can they still mark this account now?