Siemens - Replacement Washing Machine

Options
Hi There,

My first time posting but hoping someone can help.

We purchased a Siemens IQ700 washing machine with 5 yr warranty in Oct 2012 via an online dealer we met at the Ideal Home Show. I believe we paid in full by Debit Card at the time.

Now, just a few months out of warranty, the machine has stopped working. On inspection, the Siemens engineer told us that the fault was with one of the motherboards and basically an "unlucky" fault, that would not have been the result of normal wear and tear.

As a result, Siemens have offered us a "reduced" price on a replacement machine, but this is still £625.

My question - although the warranty is out, do we have any rights under the Consumer Rights Act of 2015 that states that machine parts should be fit for use for 6 years? Given that their own engineer told us that this was a faulty part and not the result of normal wear and tear?

From what I've read in the Act (I'm no lawyer) this should be taken up directly with the retailer, but I can't find them online anymore and believe they may have since gone bust.

Do we have any kind of case with Siemens direct, or should we give up now and part with the £625 for a new machine? Thanks for reading and any advice much much appreciated.

Comments

• mije1983
    mije1983 Posts: 3,665 Forumite
    First Post Combo Breaker Name Dropper First Anniversary
    Options
    Yes your consumer rights are with the retailer. It is not a 6 year guarantee, it is up to 6 years. A subtle but important difference, and the retailer could also reduce the refund amount to take account of your usage. So you wouldn't get back the whole amount you paid anyway.

How much was the machine when you bought it, and how much of a discount are Siemens offering? Anything they offer now is goodwill as you have no legal recourse against them.
  • CoolHotCold
    CoolHotCold Posts: 2,158 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker
    Options