IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Pcn small claim but no defence

Options
SophiaS
SophiaS Posts: 4 Newbie
First Anniversary
edited 4 January 2018 at 10:16PM in Parking tickets, fines & parking
Am I doomed? Have I been stupid for ignoring private parking ticket demand letters? There is a claim form (with particulars of claim listed) sitting on my kitchen table from CCBC (BW Legal for Vehicle Control Services LTD).

Let me start by saying I'm a newbie, I joined the forum today. I've read the NEWBIES PRIVATE PARKING TICKET thread and instructions have been followed on filling out and completing a MCOL - which has now been submitted - but now I'm well and truly stuck.

I'm not a legal eagle, I'm barely managing the abbreviations in the threads I've read and I really don't know how to proceed.

I understand that some kind of defence needs to be put together but what if there really isnt one? Ignorance is no defence is it?

Here are the particulars. If anyone knows of a way to successfully defend the Small Claim it will be welcomed with open arms.

[*]Driver "overstayed" in a two hour free parking space at a retail shopping centre in Sheffield. Many retail and food outlets - one large carpark - no clue that there was a time limit in operation. Had never seen this before in this carpark.

[*]This happened in October 2015. Notice via letter in post.

[*]Can barely remember the details but car was over by 15 to 30 mins.

[*]Countless letters were received from Vehicle Control Services all of which were ignored following what now seems really bad advice.

[*]Letters (and calls) from BW Legal services commenced (and ignored). All letters were originally kept for ages, but then discarded.