Your browser isn't supported
It looks like you're using an old web browser. To get the most out of the site and to ensure guides display correctly, we suggest upgrading your browser now. Download the latest:

Welcome to the MSE Forums

We're home to a fantastic community of MoneySavers but anyone can post. Please exercise caution & report spam, illegal, offensive or libellous posts/messages: click "report" or email forumteam@.

Search
  • FIRST POST
    • SophiaS
    • By SophiaS 4th Jan 18, 8:26 PM
    • 4Posts
    • 3Thanks
    SophiaS
    Pcn small claim but no defence
    • 4th Jan 18, 8:26 PM
    Pcn small claim but no defence 4th Jan 18 at 8:26 PM
    Am I doomed? Have I been stupid for ignoring private parking ticket demand letters? There is a claim form (with particulars of claim listed) sitting on my kitchen table from CCBC (BW Legal for Vehicle Control Services LTD).

Let me start by saying I'm a newbie, I joined the forum today. I've read the NEWBIES PRIVATE PARKING TICKET thread and instructions have been followed on filling out and completing a MCOL - which has now been submitted - but now I'm well and truly stuck.

I'm not a legal eagle, I'm barely managing the abbreviations in the threads I've read and I really don't know how to proceed.

I understand that some kind of defence needs to be put together but what if there really isnt one? Ignorance is no defence is it?

Here are the particulars. If anyone knows of a way to successfully defend the Small Claim it will be welcomed with open arms.

[*]Driver "overstayed" in a two hour free parking space at a retail shopping centre in Sheffield. Many retail and food outlets - one large carpark - no clue that there was a time limit in operation. Had never seen this before in this carpark.
    [*]This happened in October 2015. Notice via letter in post.
    [*]Can barely remember the details but car was over by 15 to 30 mins.