Can I get this debt wrote off?

Is there a clause in this?
The debt is old and I cannot even remember what it's for and the last time I heard from Apex Credit Management was over a year ago. BUT I have been paying £1 to them since 2011 but cancelled my direct debit 3 months ago due to no communication.

Out of the blue Cabot Financial sent me a letter today saying they are dealing with the account directly.
The letter says the following;
Duration as provided in the agreement: 0 months
Amount of credit: £0.00
Contractual payment: £0.00
Date assigned: December 2009

So my concern is, it's not even on their records as to how much credit was lent over how long and for how much, therefore how can they seek payment from me?
I don't want to be paying over the odds for something as the debt is for £7,000.

Any advice would be really appreciated

Thank you

Comments

• Ask them for clarity over the amount. The debt is still enforceable as you have been making payments.
  • Sounds like Apex have sold it onto Cabot. You have made a payment 3 months ago, so it is not Statute Barred. It wasn't the brightest move to cancel the DD. I have debts the same age as yours, and can't remember the last time I heard from them. Contact Cabot before you end up with a CCJS. You took out a loan, so repay it.
  • sourcrates
    sourcrates Posts: 28,870 Ambassador
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post Photogenic
    Send a provit letter to them, it sounds like the details of the debt are sadly lacking, get them to prove your liability, provit letter available from the stickies on debt free wannabe.

They can’t just send a random letter with no content and expect you to pay them.