IMPORTANT: Please make sure your posts do not contain any personally identifiable information (both your own and that of others). When uploading images, please take care that you have redacted all personal information including QR codes, number plates and reference numbers.

Council Charge

Hi there

I have recently been fined for parking on a hard standing, this is over 50ft from the road which is double yellows. I had been parking there for 7/8 years as had been told it was university land.
The council claim, "Your vehicle was parked in contravention of the double yellow lines restriction. While I note that the pavement is wide enough to park a vehicle on, other areas in the city are not of a similar size. Parking on the pavement is obstructive and inconvenient."

"While I note that you have parked there since 2009 without incurring a Penalty Charge Notice. Whilst I note this information, it bears no relevance to the fact that your vehicle was in breach of a parking regulation, and I can only suggest at the time of parking on previous occasions, officers were not patrolling the area in question. Civil Enforcement Officers work different shifts and are assigned to different beats and as such are not able to patrol every road, every day.
You also state that other vehicles were parked in front of the building without incurring a Penalty Charge Notice and have provided photograph evidence in respect of this. Having viewed your photographs of the other vehicles they are only showing the rear therefore it cannot be clarified whether they have been issued with a Penalty Charge or not. Irrespective of this I am unable to confirm any information regarding the issue of Penalty Charge Notices to other vehicles, but can state that Civil Enforcement Officers are trained to issue a Charge to any vehicle breaching restrictions."

My issue being;
1. That there are vehicles parked there daily, these are the same vehicles and are not ticketed.