Portfolio Unitisation Question

I have been unitising my ISA portfolio since December 2013, and the last 6 months or so I have been holding my dividends as cash (as opposed to re-investing them).

I have been considering the effect on performance of holding some cash in the portfolio, so I will explain my thought process here.
Scenario 1

Portfolio is 95% equity and 5% cash. Lets say there are 100 units held.

Scenario 2

The cash is withdrawn from the ISA, meaning the portfolio is 100% equity however there are only 95 units held (as the cash was withdrawn therefore some units were redeemed).

So, if the market fell by 10% am I correct in saying Scenario 1 would outperform scenario 2?
And if market increased by 10%, scenario 2 would outperform scenario 1?

Hope this makes sense!
"If you aren’t willing to own a stock for ten years, don’t even think about owning it for ten minutes” Warren Buffett

Save £12k in 2021 - #027 £15,268 (76%)

Comments

• Linton
    Linton Posts: 17,135 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary Hung up my suit!
    I don't understand your problem...

In scenario 2 you would be left with 95 units.

If the market fell by 10%, scenario 1 units would fall by 9.5% whereas scenario 2 units would fall by 10%. The % numbers would be the same if the markets rose. So withdrawing the cash would make the portfolio more volatile, outperforming in the good times and underperforming in the bad.
  • george4064
    george4064 Posts: 2,810 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    Linton wrote: »
    I don't understand your problem...

In scenario 2 you would be left with 95 units.

If the market fell by 10%, scenario 1 units would fall by 9.5% whereas scenario 2 units would fall by 10%. The % numbers would be the same if the markets rose. So withdrawing the cash would make the portfolio more volatile, outperforming in the good times and underperforming in the bad.

Im comparing the performance per unit.