Gumtree sale advice - id sharing

Options
Hi All,

I am selling a camera on gumtree and the buyer wants to share photo id before they transfer their money.

I've never done this before, so wanted to check the issues surrounding sharing a photo of my drivers license id with them.

Any advice appreciated.

Thank you.

Comments

• bxboards
    bxboards Posts: 1,711 Forumite
    Options
    Gumtree is for face to face transaction only - this will be on your selling page.

Up to you if you do this, but there are warnings all over Gumtree about it being for in-person, face to face transactions.

Why people choose to ignore that site, and ask here is always a mystery to me!

If you do decide to sell remotely, only accept bank transfer.
  • Ting-Tang
    Ting-Tang Posts: 129 Forumite
    edited 9 July 2017 at 1:26PM
    Options
    I don't know why anybody genuine would ask you to do that but it smells a bit weird to me.
    I wouldn't if I was you.
  • Koa
    Koa Posts: 9 Forumite
    Options
    mutty_hc wrote: »
    Hi All,

I am selling a camera on gumtree and the buyer wants to share photo id before they transfer their money.

I've never done this before, so wanted to check the issues surrounding sharing a photo of my drivers license id with them.

Any advice appreciated.

Thank you.

Oh, you are so right to be careful of sharing personal information.

Why not post the image here first, and we'll check it out for you and let you know if it'll be safe to pass onto this unknown, possible purchaser?
  • soolin
    soolin Posts: 72,199 Ambassador
    Photogenic Name Dropper First Post First Anniversary
    Options
    OP is selling and appears to be expecting a bank transfer, which makes the buyers request for ID more understandable .