70,000 Pounds to Invest

With banks offering no or very low interest rates for savers I am looking for another safe way to invest about 70,000 pounds . Im a UK citizen ; tax payer too . 70,000 to invest safely as possible . Im no gambler as the money did not come easily .
I was thinking of buying a flat to rent out but as I live overseas this seems like a fair bit of hassle and I could be faced with big bills for repairs , evictions etc . which would decimate my life savings . Plus I have zero experience in the field .
How should I invest it? I would like to get as much monthly return as possible and have the lump sum available when Im older . I have contacted IFAs in the UK but they all want to have an in person meeting with me . But Im overseas at the moment
Thanks for any suggestions .

Comments

• Zola.
    Zola. Posts: 2,204 Forumite
    First Anniversary Photogenic Name Dropper First Post
    edited 8 June 2017 at 9:06AM
    If you want good returns you most likely have to be willing to put up with some moderate risk.

You could max out all the highest % bank accounts available to you and do a money shuffle cycle each month to get the high interest. 5 minutes work a month.

In addition / alternative to this is investing in a S&S ISA, and being content to let the money sit there over the long term to compound and grow.
  • elephantrosie
    elephantrosie Posts: 467 Forumite
    decide what level of risk to begin with. high returns, high risk. low returns, low risk.

if you found somehting that is of high returns and low risk, it is likely scam. avoid.
    Another night of thankfulness.
  • As you are overseas you may not have access to many of the accounts recommended here, can't put money in an ISA etc. Most banks require you to declare you are resident in the UK to open an account, including savings accounts. Same applies to fund platforms if you want to invest.