What should a complete investment novice do?

Options
Dear wise people

I'm a long time lurker on this thread, but am still baffled (and slightly terrified!) by much of the terminology - I have zero experience with investments, and would welcome some easy-to-understand advice from you.

I have two current account regular saver accounts which mature at the end of June, which will give me around £7,000. I would like to invest this in a S&S ISA, as a way of dipping my toes into the stock market and assumed that the safest and easiest way to do this would be to open an HSBC World Selection ISA as they are my main bank.

However not many of you seem to talk about having a S&S ISA through a high street bank as they are too expensive or don't perform as well. Would I be being ridiculously naive to go down this route? Is there a better option for me? I know £7K is a tiny amount, but I'm pleased to have managed to save this over the past 12 months and would like to put it somewhere where it can continue to work for me.

I've already filled up the high (ha!) interest accounts from the likes of Tesco, Club Lloyds, Nationwide, TSB and get the Halifax and Coop Rewards so there's no space for the money there.

What would you suggest, please?

Comments

• droopsnoot
    droopsnoot Posts: 1,758 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    I don't know HSBC, but I opened my S&S ISA many years ago at the Nationwide. The problem I have run into is that the selection of funds available there is very limited, so virtually none of the funds that people talk about on here or elsewhere are available.

As well as the costs, this is something worth considering. £7 may be a "tiny amount" compared to some, but there's an argument that the costs would therefore be of more significance to you, rather than less.
  • keyboardworrier
    Options