Nightmare with Welcome Finance!!

Options
honest7
honest7 Posts: 29 Forumite
This is my first time posting here but I am a long time lurker. I am having a hell of a problem with Welcome Finance and wonder if anyone can help me.:confused:

In 2005 I took out a loan for £500 with Welcome Finance, and was told that the only way they would give me the loan was if I took out PPI. This took the loan to almost £800.

During the past year I have had problems with the monthly payments due to losing my job and when I asked whether I would be covered they started coming up with all sorts of excuse and the end result was that I did not get any help.I was told that they could reduce my monthly payments by extending the time of the loan, and I was so stupid enough to agree that it was extended for another 4 years :o.I was out of work and I contacted the CCCS who advised me to give them token payments of £1 a month which I have been doing so far. I even wrote them a letter stating that they freeze payments on my account and I also enclosed a Income and Expenditure form.

I received a letter this morning from them saying that my account has now been passed to the collections department due to arrears. When I called up I was shocked to find that the interest was not frozen and that now I owe £1200. I do not understand how its gone up so dramatically when I have paid almost £1000 within the 2 years.

I feel that I am losing a fighting battle here, and that my debt will never ever be clear. I just don't know what to do anymore. I am desperatly looking for work and I am trying my best to come off JSA, so it doesn't help that this letter has come now.

My aunt knows about the situation and has offered to give me £200 to see whether they will take it as a full and final settlement, but I very much doubt it as they will probably chase me for the remainding £1000. This will mean that for a £500 loan, they will end up getting in total almost £2200.