Web hosting, changing from Mr Site, total novice

Options
Hi,
I am looking for recommendations to swap hosts for my low key website (info only) with Mr Site.
I set it up with help from my local Business gateway years ago. I have literally no idea how to do any of this. Mr Site charges me £50/year, which I believe is not MSE at all.
Are there any hosts that are easy to transfer to for total novices like myself?
Any help would be much appreciated. Tia

Comments

• forgotmyname
    forgotmyname Posts: 32,556 Forumite
    First Anniversary Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    Very easy. Buy a new hosting plan, Upload all your files the same as the old site. They give you DNS settings, change that on your domain name wherever you bought that and after a few minutes/hours your site will be on the new service.

Making sure you cancel the old contract..

I use 50 webs because i get to host upto 10 domain names for one price.
    Censorship Reigns Supreme in Troll City...

• sophiejames
    Options
    Thanks for your reply. A couple of questions, since I am totally clueless.
    Who would I buy a hosting plan with?
    When you say upload files, do you mean my website content?
    What are DNS settings?
    I currently pay AuthSMTP, is this something I can avoid with using another host?
    Sorry I have to ask, I honestly have no idea.
  • AJXX
    AJXX Posts: 847 Forumite
    Options
    Very easy. Buy a new hosting plan, Upload all your files the same as the old site. They give you DNS settings, change that on your domain name wherever you bought that and after a few minutes/hours your site will be on the new service.

Making sure you cancel the old contract..

I use 50 webs because i get to host upto 10 domain names for one price.