We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Consumer Credit Act, regarding overdraft

Options
Hello,

Very sorry if this is not in the right place, I am a complete newbie and could not find a more relevant section to post this in.

I seek advise please. I recently was contacted by Wescot debt management and asked to pay £580 in relation to an old student account I once had with Natwest (I actually thought I had paid the overdraft off 4 years ago but must have missed the remaining amount). I asked for proof of the original agreement in writing, quoting section 78 of the consumer credit act. but the bank has sent me a letter saying

"The bank does not require customers to sign an agreement under the consumer credit act in order for an overdraft facility to be applied to their account. Therefore a copy of the signed agreement is not available and does not need to be provided to you under the terms of section 78. All borrowing facilities are finalized by way of confirmation letter."

Is this accurate information from them? I did have a go at getting a reduced settlement, but they only offer a partial settlement, which I would rather avoid.

The other curious point is that this account (though I did definitely have it) is not showing up on my Experian credit report, Wescot said it has definitely defaulted but as there is no sign of this account the default is not showing, even though I made my last payment to this account about 4 years ago so it should show..

I am not sure where I stand with this.. whether to just pay it (though I think the remaining amount is just charges on a small amount left in there (under £100)) or whether I need to respond to the letter and get more information.

I would really appreciate any advise.

Thank you