Lloyds TSB Share dealing- any good?

Options
Looking at investing in shares, absolute beginner I am.
On my online banking Lloyds have share dealing, it seems fairly straight forward, so thought I would ask on this board for some feedback/advice before I go any further!
So please enlighten me!
Thank you!
SwagBucks Challenge: 402/849
Updated 31/08/2012
Joined 06/07/2012
Total: £40 Amazon Vouchers

Comments

• guitarman001
    guitarman001 Posts: 1,052 Forumite
    Options
    I think their admin fees for just holding an account can really add up. There are cheaper alternatives!
  • trikidy
    trikidy Posts: 289 Forumite
    Options
    I think their admin fees for just holding an account can really add up. There are cheaper alternatives!

As I said, I'm an absolute beginner. I watched their video demo and it said free to open. How do I find fees?
    What is a better alternative?
    Thank you
    Updated 31/08/2012
    Joined 06/07/2012
  • trikidy
    Options
    Wow, £15 charge for every transaction, so to buy a share £15, and then selling also £15.
    Are all places like that? Seems alot!
    http://www.reviewcentre.com/reviews193298.html
    Updated 31/08/2012
    Joined 06/07/2012
  • trikidy
    Options
    Updated 31/08/2012
    Joined 06/07/2012
  • Ifts
    Ifts Posts: 1,952 Forumite
    First Anniversary First Post Combo Breaker Name Dropper
    Options
    trikidy wrote: »
    Looking at investing in shares, absolute beginner I am

Don't rush into things. Read up and learn as much as you can before you part with any money.

See if you can get your hands on any of these books:

The Naked Trader (by Robbie Burns)

Smarter Investor (by Tim Hale)

The Intelligent Investor (by Benjamin Graham)

TheBookDepository.co.uk - Good prices + Free delivery