Company Car - FULLY Expensed?

Options
Please give me advice on this if you can.

I have been working for my company for 3 years now and have enjoyed the use of a fully expensed vehicle. Obviously that means I had ALL my fuel and repairs paid for and the Fuel Benefit came out of my salary in tax. I am also field based working in Sales, so I don't go to and from an office, so to speak.

Now I receive a memo today from the firm saying that I am going to have to pay back any Private Mileage to them through my expenses on a monthly basis. Furthermore they are saying they have done an analysis that shows the Fuel Benefit costs me around £790 per annum in tax, which equates to 6,000 Private miles.

I did between 11,000 and 12,000 Private Miles per year between 2009 and 2012 tax years...so how would I be BETTER OFF?!!!

My questions are this:

(1) Can they just change policy without any notice? The memo went out this afternoon and they are saying it starts as of 1st April 2012.

(2) I signed my Contract Of Employment based on the fact I could enjoy the use of a fully expensed car. Surely that means they need to re-negotiate my contract with me?

It feels like a kick in the nuts but I don't want to be all reactionary about it if it really doesn't disadvantage me, but I think it does.

This is my only car in the household, and the company have not offered an Opt Out policy to buy my own car so I am feeling a little stuck.

Can people clarify for me?

Comments

• marybelle01
    marybelle01 Posts: 2,101 Forumite
    Options