Paying student loan

Options
I graduated in 2005, and have since been employed for 6 years earning over the 11k+ which triggers off repayment. However I haven't noticed any outgoings for this in my paycheck.

I'd need to dig into my student folder from years ago to see how much exactly I borrowed, but I believe it should not come to any more than 5k (only borrowed the amount for tuition fees for each year - 1k/year). And studied in Northern Ireland if this matters.

Before contacting the SLC I thought I'd ask incase anyone here had the answer as to why I'm not repaying? And because I'm not would it have been building up on interest over the years? Scared to find out I'd be owing x3 as much of what I borrowed!

Comments

• MusicalLawyer
    Options
    If you graduated in 2005, and took out your loan after 1998 - then the threshold is £15,000.

This is the repayment website - http://www.studentloanrepayment.co.uk - log in and it'll tell you exactly how much you owe and when you have to pay back etc.
    SAVINGS: £63.86 // £3,000
  • neilem
    neilem Posts: 103 Forumite
    First Anniversary Combo Breaker Name Dropper First Post
    Options
    If you graduated in 2005, and took out your loan after 1998 - then the threshold is £15,000.
    Ah, couldn't mind how much it was exactly, but I'm earning over 15k+.
    This is the repayment website - <link removed because I'm new> - log in and it'll tell you exactly how much you owe and when you have to pay back etc.
    Don't have my customer reference number at hand, will look through that student folder I mentioned later this evening... thanks.
  • neilem
    Options
    Just an update. Got talking to HR and they said I didn't sign a P46 (nor provided a P45) and HMRC have not instructed them to start deducting student loan payments.

I'm guessing if the latter didn't take place, then quite a few people would be unaware about having to sign anything.