We'd like to remind Forumites to please avoid political debate on the Forum. This is to keep it a safe and useful space for MoneySaving discussions. Threads that are - or become - political in nature may be removed in line with the Forum’s rules. Thank you for your understanding.

Can't pay compulsory field trips

Options
I am in my third year of university, actually finished all exams just waiting to graduate. I have an outstanding debt with Exeter University of £420 for a field trip I needed to go on to complete my degree. I applied for the access to learning fund with all the relevant details of my situation (married, two kids, hardly working, rent to pay etc) gave me a lousy £250 that just covered the costs of food for the 10 days that I had to be away.
The conundrum is I will not be able to graduate until the debt is cleared, I have a job starting in July but the debt needs to be cleared before then and I have no means of getting the extra money.

I am wondering if anybody knows any loopholes or extra sources of funding that are hidden away anywhere. Surely if a trip is compulsory and a student cannot pay before graduation there is a way to postpone the debt payment/make the university pay?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Comments

• melancholly
    melancholly Posts: 7,457 Forumite
    Combo Breaker First Post
    Options
    hmm... difficult if you've already done ALF..... have you spoken to anyone in your department or in student services? there isn't anything obvious on the funding search page on the exeter website.

(although i'm not sure how £250 only covered food?)
    :happyhear
  • Oldernotwiser
    Oldernotwiser Posts: 37,425 Forumite
    edited 27 May 2011 at 11:31PM
    Options
    You paid £25 a day for food?

I don't think that £250 towards a £420 trip is unreasonable.
  • celyn90
    celyn90 Posts: 3,249 Forumite
    Options