Start As I Mean To Go On [Gorg's MFW]

Options
Gorg
Gorg Posts: 55 Forumite
edited 17 October 2015 at 2:06AM in Mortgage-free wannabe
Husband and I have only signed the mortgage documents today, and haven't even moved yet. But I've been applying advice from MSE to my finances for a few years now with great success, and as this is the biggest chunk of debt I've ever taken on, it seems sensible to cut it down as fast as possible (without causing any financial strain).

The debt is £170,995 (90% LTV of £190,000 plus fees). 25 year term. 3.49% interest fixed for 32 months, standard rate after that.

Combined annual pre-tax income is £50k (approx. £3,300 a month between us after tax etc.). No debts, except a small amount on 0% credit cards (which we always pay off before interest), and my student loan (which comes directly out of my pay).

In addition to what we will spend on the mortgage (around £850 a month), we estimate £600 in additional necessary spending (bills, council tax, food, and saving up to pay off the credit card balance for the furniture we're buying). We also save approx. £350 a month. This leaves us with about £1800 between us per month.

I'm trying to work out how best to use our money for the following aims:

- Pay the mortgage off within 15 years, sooner if possible.
- Buy a new car within 1 year (current car will fail its next MOT, a new or nearly new one would suit us best for the amount of driving we will be doing).
- Have a savings buffer of £6,000 at all times in case of emergency

First steps:
- Actually move into the house and start making our mortgage payments, and see how our actual bills stack up against the estimates [DONE]
- Look into better savings methods than a standard savings account

Feel free to tell me if this seems in any way ridiculous! Open to advice etc.
Initial Mortgage July 2015: £170,995
Current Mortgage: £159,402

Comments

• somethingcorporate
    Options
    Looks like you are on plan. Are you both lower-rate tax-payers?