Legal and General WPF sell off ?

Options
I am new to this financial arena, and so please forgive me if I am in the wrong shop !

I was made aware some time ago that Legal and General were shutting down several of their financial products. Included in these fiscal packages was the With Profits Fund. Back in 2015 they announced that no further financial activity would be allowed with regard to this WPF, although it would continue to be 'managed'.

I am now in receipt of a 39 page brochure explaining that they are in the process of selling off this fund to a financial outfit of whom I have never heard.

I have read the brochure, and a lot of 'bumff' on the internet, about a company called "ReAssure". They would appear to be an offshoot of a Swiss outfit of which, similarly, I have never heard, and who's major activity would seem to be trawling the financial world, buying up products that, for one reason or another, other financial institutions wish to sell. My instant thoughts sprang to "Asset Stripping".

I have not been ReAssured by anything that I have read, and the telephone conversation I had with the L&G help line did little to ReAssure me.

I have two options, and the terminology known well to card players fits the bill nicely. I can stick or I can twist !

As a pensioner the monthly income that I draw is essential to supplement my meagre state pension. So if I terminate my fund holding, I will need to find somewhere else to place the money in order to generate as much monthly income as possible.

In current times this is no easy task, with interest rates at an all-time low. I may also be hit with an MVA applied by L&G to 'protect' the investments of those who remain in the fund. I should add that at the moment there is no MVA in place, but for how long that will be the case, I do not know.