About to be made redundant... Again?

I'm 37, this will be redundancy number 4, most don't get this in their entire working career so I'm doing well in that regards. What I mean by redundancy is the business goes into administration and you're out on your ear.

Because this is number 4 for me you can just tell the signs, work has severely slowed, bills not being paid, running out of stock and it not being replenished, bosses managers not showing any interest or not being in, random guys in suits being shown around, the smart guy makes an appearance, the smart guy is the know it all who tries to get the company closed without costing the boss too much money, the smart guy is also the guy who screws over your redundancy and wages owed, you effectively are out on your ear and have to claim all from the government which going by past experience takes 6 months plus, the smart guy has been in several times now.

I work in manufacturing, all minimum wage work, it really screws guys like us as we generally don't earn enough to save anything so once the smart guy puts you out you are screwed and because of universal credit is paid in arrears you've no money for a month or so.

The question is what should I do? Do I start looking elsewhere and loss my redundancy or hold tight? What makes this redundancy different from previous for me is the premises have a lot of land attached thats in a prime location for housing, it was last valued at £5 million a couple of years back, that was always the bosses long term aim and he admits this, we just thought that we might get another few years but I guess with business on the decline now is the time, the premises itself is an old factory built in the 40's thats only really good for knocking down.

Any advice? I'm only there 6 years so not a massive redundancy but for someone who earns minimum wage its a substantial lift.

Comments

• lincroft1710
    lincroft1710 Posts: 17,618 Forumite