PPI Claim - Halifax Mortgage

Options
Hi
I'm a Newbie on the Forum.
Some weeks ago I used Resolver to submit a claim to Halifax re: PPI on a mortgage I had with them starting in 1997. The mortgage is paid now.
I did not have any paperwork.
Halifax did write back to me to advise that they were investigating.

Tomorrow someone from Lloyds, I believe, is going to telephone me to discuss my 'allegations'. Why do I feel like I've committed a crime? :)

This mortgage was for my first property, I was in my twenties, I met with the adviser by myself it was all very daunting. Here's what I do remember I was told I had to have this payment protection in case I was too ill to work that way the mortgage would be paid. If I could go back and slap myself I would because I worked in the NHS and the H.R policy in the hospital I worked at was, if I was off sick for 6 months I received full pay, if I was still off sick for a further 6 months I received half pay. In both instances I would still have been able to afford the mortgage repayments. I don't recall it being mentioned that the policy also covered issues like unemployment but it must have.

I'm just getting stressed (that's an understatement!) about this telephone call tomorrow. I wondered if anyone knew how these usually went? I never missed any payments on the mortgage and was never in arrears. I feel like I need to be very careful what I say. I was going to ask, how long the policy would have paid out for if I had been sick? Because if it was 6 or 12 months then I definitely didn't need it. I didn't become unemployed either.

I just wondered if anyone knew what I might be asked?

Any information would be much appreciated.
Thank you.

Comments

• McKneff
    McKneff Posts: 38,823 Forumite
    Name Dropper First Anniversary First Post
    Options
    What has lloyd s got to do with it. ?

You can remember a conversation from 20myears ago ???

You have to prove a miss sale, but you have nothing in writing .