£60K to invest - I'm a beginner

Options
Hey!
Right, I'm a total newcomer to investing - but have a lump sum of £60K in a high-interest savings account at the moment. Just wondered what you thought I should best do with this money as it can't just sit there doing nothing for ever!

I've just graduated, 25, and i'm due to start my first proper job later on in the yr. I don't have any debts. I don't have my own house at the moment, but when I start working I would be looking to buy. Is it a good move, considering the current levelling off of house prices? (figured if I have the deposit, I should definitely invest some of my money in property rather than renting...)

As i said, currently don't have a CLUE where to start investing for my future - my long term goals once earning are to have property (preferably soon -maybe one abroad too) and provide well for any wedding and future kids i may have. I don't have an ISA (maxi- or mini-) yet. But should I be investing in this? Or in index trackers and the stock market? Or spreading my risk over a variety of financial products (eg savings account, ISA, bonds, shares)? Or is it better off in one lump sum in a bank account?

What should I do to get good returns on my money for my future? How risky can i afford to be at my level of (in)experience (but with no current dependents)?

Any help or advice would be really useful!
Cheers.

Comments

• lipidicman
    lipidicman Posts: 2,598 Forumite
    Options
    For savings advice have you read martin's savings fountain article. This will get you the best ISA, regular saver and online saver. Then think about spreading your investment risk - bonds and gilts (low risk) and maybe some shares/trackers (for higher risk). You will have to decide which investments are right for you
  • Munki_2
    Munki_2 Posts: 168 Forumite
    First Post First Anniversary Combo Breaker
    Options